Thank You (but I may never walk again)

About 2 years ago I decided that I needed to look after myself better.  I likened it to the emergency drill on the plane.  I needed to put my oxygen mask on first to be able to help those around me do the same.  To that end, I started to exercise and put myself on a diet.  I did pretty well on my own, lost some weight and got myself up to running 5 km all be it very slowly.  But then I got shin splints and stopped … everything.

In December this year, after putting all the weight back on, I decided to join a fitness group that a number of people I knew went to.  It was the Christmas holidays and I had time during the day.  I wasn’t sure if I could maintain it going back to work but seven months down the track, I’ve lost most of the weight again (10 down 5 to go) but more importantly I am much fitter.  I’m not running, the shin splints returned, but I am doing cardio and weights so I feel stronger. While everyone around me got a cold this year, my immune system has held.

Mt Keira 2

Before Boot Camp

But this is not the best part of taking this step.  The best part is the people that have come into my life.  Jules Verheyen, her husband Rob, her trainers Mark and Bec and the fitness family that they train are amazing.  They are inclusive and supportive of everyone they train, way beyond the classes they run.  I was impressed when they did a major fundraiser for Lizzy as she battled breast cancer.  What I didn’t expect was that they would lend the same support to me.

Mt Keira 3

Tim Team. Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner

As Jules gradually gathered information about my situation, she decided that her next fundraiser would be for Kev.  A Bootcamp through Mt Keira.  Designed and coordinated by Mark and Bec. The Jules Fitness family paid $10 each for the chance to bush bash up hill and down dale.  Through creek beds, on deer tracks, bike tracks and tracks Mark slashed through the lantana just days before.  All money raised to go towards our US trip.  Although I will be giving some the the HD Association towards the respite camp Kev attended.

MtKeira1

Leo’s Team. I prefer 2nd place to last.

I am sore from head to toe, I don’t think I will be able to walk tomorrow and my hand still tingles from the stinging nettles but I had a great time.  That’s right a great time. And I was on the winning team.  Go Tim’s team!

I want to say a big thank you to Jules, Rob, Bec and Mark as well as everyone who came along this morning.  I am a little bit overwhelmed by it and so is Kev. We have decided to put it towards hiring Kev an electric bike to ride across the Golden Gate Bridge.  He was determined to do it on a push bike but this will make this day trip a whole lot easier for him (and rest of us).

If you are looking to get fit and live in the Figtree area, I highly recommend Jules Fitness.  Just click on the link to go to the website.  They go way beyond fitness for the people they train.  I have to say signing up has been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

 

Leave a Reply

